By NewsLine Staff

The 2016-2017 Teachers of the Year  and Rookie Teachers of the Year have been selected from each of the district’s 36 schools as well as St. Johns Virtual School, First Coast Technical College and The Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind.

These nominees represent the very best among St. Johns County School District teachers. Their colleagues have selected them for this prestigious honor and they will advance to compete for the countywide title. This is the 10th year that the Rookie Teacher of the Year competition has been held for teachers who have taught fewer than three years.

Advertise in our May Issue The Creek Line

The overall winners will be announced at the annual Teacher of the Year and Rookie Teacher of the Year Celebration Monday, Jan. 23 at the Renaissance Resort at World Golf Village. The St. Johns County Teacher of the Year will then be included for consideration as the Florida Department of Education Macy’s Teacher of the Year to serve for 2018.

Following are the nominees for northern St. Johns County schools:

  • Cunningham Creek Elementary: Dana Kelly and rookie London Marlar
  • Durbin Creek Elementary: Kara Bird and rookie Victoria Cobb
  • Hickory Creek Elementary: Wendy Teaman and rookie Aishla Acevedo Rodriguez
  • Julington Creek Elementary: Wendy Gilbert and rookie Trey Lewek
  • Mill Creek Elementary: Carolyn Ramsay and rookie Danielle Johnson
  • Ocean Palms Elementary: Lauren Tate Wade and rookie Christopher Arcuri
  • Palencia Elementary: Laura Simpson and rookie Angela Erney
  • PVPV/Rawlings Elementary: Leslie Cabo Dal Molin and rookie Susan Luce
  • Timberlin Creek Elementary: Lisa Barnett and rookie Whitney Fischer
  • Wards Creek Elementary: Kristin Fanning and rookie Lauren Seckinger
  • Liberty Pines Academy : Kristin Latshaw and rookie Jenna Josephson
  • Patriot Oaks Academy: Allyson Jordan and rookie Megan Doxzon
  • Valley Ridge Academy: Megan Leighty and Sarah Lively
  • Bartram Trail High: Claire Bynum and rookie Kathryn Gouch
  • Creekside High: Mallory Padgett and rookie Kaley Still
  • Fruit Cove Middle: Steven Whitmer and rookie Kristen Alford
  • Alice B. Landrum Middle: Sandra Pagliughi and rookie Martha Wray
  • Allen D. Nease High: Susan Lycke and rookie Amy Gruhn
  • Pacetti Bay Middle: Jennifer Cooper and rookie Anna L. Armitage
  • Ponte Vedra High: Charles Cerrato and rookie Philip Sabado
  • Switzerland Point Middle: Rachel Farris and rookie Michael Shine

For additional information and tickets to the event, visit or contact INK at (904) 547-7124.

  • Support Community Journalism in Ponta Vedra NewsLine
  • Advertise in our May Issue The Creek Line